Posted by: richandmary2011 | May 9, 2012

May 9,2012

Buster and I arrived at Grey’s Point Camp in Topping VA on Monday.  The trip from NC was long but peaceful. Beautiful farm country most of the way. When we arrived, we were greeted by Chris Mesche, our friend from Belle Parc. She was working the front desk and although I’d told her I’d stop in, she was surprised. Luckily, the camp had lots of room for us to park so we’ll be here for a week.  Yesterday I went exploring in my car. There are lots of little villages on both sides of the Rappahannock River. The strangest thing is the roads end without warning. There are no signs saying “DEAD END” or “NO OUTLET”, just “End of State Maintenance” and no more road. Very disconcerting.

I had breakfast in Lee’s Restaurant. Very nice homey atmosphere and good food. Lunch was a homemade barbecue sandwich from the corner convenience store. Last night, Chris and I went to a seafood restaurant-good food, high prices.

I took a tour of historic Christ Church. It was built during the 1700s and is still in pretty good shape.

Last night, the power in the rig died. I’m not sure what the problem is, but the electric worked and the front battery was fully charged. I don’t know if it is the generator batteries going bad. This morning I replaced the CO  detector,ran the engine and the generator and everything worked fine.  Now the ceiling lights and refrigerator have stopped working again. Plus I can’t get the cable to work.  I hate used vehicles.

It has been raining since last night with intermittent stoppage. The temperature is cool and breezy. Haven’t had to break out the jackets yet, but long pants are helpful.

Tomorrow, my friend from Virginia Beach is coming over and we’ll probably sightsee. Looking forward to the visit. Later y’all

Responses

  1. So you’re on the road again!!!! Other than his storm phobia and his dislike of golf carts, how’s Buster doing as co-pilot? Good map reading skills? I hope you get your power problem solved and I hope that’s the end to your RV problems!! Brian’s working on the travel information he promised you and he’ll email it to you soon. I’m recovering pretty quickly from my shoulder surgery and we’ve been doing some local camping in our itty bitty camper and also trying to get our yard and place back in shape. Safe travels and remember to aim that RV for Iowa!!!!! Take care! Annette

  2. Hi Mary, So nice to hear about all your travels. Read your complete blog. I sure admire your courage to travel alone. I wouldn’t know how to fix anything. You be safe.
    Karen & Dale Worzella (belle parc)


Leave a Reply

Categories

